Port of Mattawa Commissioners

Three Commissioners, district elected by the voters of Grant County, serve six-year terms and establish Port policy. Commission meetings are held once a month on the second Monday, 5:00 PM at the Port of Mattawa Office.

District No. 1 Commissioner: Verlyn Coulson

Current term: 2019 – 2025

Verlyn Coulson ran for the vacant position of Commissioner No. 1. Coulson is a third-generation Mattawa native with over 15 years in the hydro industry. He is a strong advocate for his field and has a passion for outdoor recreation. He sees serving on the Board of Commissioners as a public service and wants to do the most good for the community.

District No. 2 Commissioner: Lauri Dayton

Current term: 2017 – 2023

Lauri Dayton was appointed on the Port of Mattawa Board of Commissioners in 2016 left vacant by the passing of Wayne Sahli. He worked many years for the Grant County PUD and serving on the Wahluke School Board.

District No 3 Commissioner: Glenn Leland

Current term: 2021 – 2027

Glenn Leland has been on the board for many years. He served the port from 1979 – 1985 and has been a commissioner since 1991. He grew up in Warden WA, graduated from Washington State University with a degree in Agriculture Economics. He moved to Mattawa in 1974 and has been farming ever since then. Growing a wide variety of crops, hay, corn, wheat, buckwheat, apples, and cherries. He has been involved in many local community groups, a founding member of the Mattawa/Desert-Aire Lions Club.